rita ackerman

Home » Uncategorized » 55 word contest

55 word contest

Over the summer the Phoenix Writers Club had a 55 word contest for members. We were to write a story (with a beginning, middle and end) in 55 words. Some of the members were judges and the winner won $55.00 with second at $44.00 and third at $33.00. The rest of us received certificates and all were published in the newsletter.

Here’s my submission:

“The Shoot”

The vacant windows of the abandoned farmhouse beckoned to me. I imagined the photos I’d create and raising the camera I stepped into the overgrown yard. Lost in the viewfinder I moved forward until my foot hit a wooden step. Anxious to go inside I stepped up on the porch.

Hisss.

“Snakes!”

I ran.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~misc 3176

It is fun to do challenges and try new things. We are all aware that publishing is changing. Genres are blending and eBooks are taking over. Flash fiction meets the needs of people who want something short they can read on the run.

 

Keep challenging yourself as a writer.

 

Take your first steps with something new, just like my mom in this photo.

Leave a Reply

