rita ackerman

Home » Uncategorized » Biting the Bullet

Biting the Bullet

I really don’t like the technology aspects of blogging, writing, or anything. I get frustrated easy and I don’t have a very good memory. So talking myself in to a day with my blog has taken some doing. But here I am. I’m going to learn how to do WordPress and I’m going to take notes as I go. I’m saying this so if you see some really bizarre things you will know it is because I “goofed.”

First of all, I want to add a photo I took of the sunset when we were driving home from Clarkdale/Cottonwood last Saturday. Sunset over Bradshaws.

Well that was painless except I can’t figure out how to center it. Oh wait, I did it! Progress!

One thing I’ve had trouble with is getting my text to single space. Suddenly it is doing it but I don’t know how or why. So I didn’t learn from that one. My friend, C. B., tells me she just keeps clicking on things until she figures out what how to do things. Makes sense, but I don’t have her confidence.

So why am I making my learning process public? As a reminder that everything is a learning process. Those who say WordPress is easy to use have already gone through this process and possibly understood more than I do going in. We tend to forget that at one time we didn’t know how to drive, or send an email, or write a poem.

We learn by doing, but it helps, sometimes, to remember that we aren’t on this learning road alone. Others have been here, are in the same place or will be. They are as frustrated as I have been and may give up (I almost did). So this post is a reminder to myself that I will learn this and the sun will set and rise and set again. Each day will bring a new learning experience if I keep myself open and that seems to be a big part of what life is all about.

What will you learn today?

bel=’Website’ type=’url’/][contact-field label='Comment' type='textarea' required='1'/][/contact-form]

4 Comments

  1. Windy Lynn says:

    Great thoughts, Rita 🙂

    Today I’m learning about characterization. Taking a writing class all about it, and working my way through a pile of homework. I love learning something new too!

  2. I always tell my students, we learn nothing without making mistakes. 🙂 Be brave and keep clicking on things.

Leave a Reply

