Home » Uncategorized » Writer’s Blog Hop

Writer’s Blog Hop

Writers are wonderful. I love meeting them, talking to them, learning from them, and writing about them. This blog was started to share many of those meetings and some of the things I have learned about writing. It doesn’t do any good if the word doesn’t get out. Writers are also good at supporting each other and this blog hop is one way of doing that. I hope you will follow the trail of blogs forward and backward and make new friends along the way.

I’ve been tagged by one of my favorite writers. I have followed C. B. Wentworth’s blog for a very long time. We spend time together talking about writing and just writing. She is a great inspiration and if you haven’t visited her blog please go spend some time there. She does photography, writes poetry, travels, knits and keeps me inspired.

Thank you C. B. Wentworth for all your help and support.

Here are the questions I’ve been asked:

What am I working on?

I have an endless list of projects but the biggest one right now is rewriting my book O. K. Corral Postscript: The Death of Ike Clanton. It has been out of print for awhile so I’m looking forward to making it available again; with some updates. I’m also continuing with my Old West history articles and some fiction. I’ve been dabbling in some poetry. I have two blogs that also keep me busy.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

That’s a tough one to answer for western history. I write broader and also I look for the unusual. I like to take small stories of everyday life and put them in perspective. Since I do a lot of writing on Tombstone, Arizona I’m looking for the people and stories that haven’t been done to death.

Why do I write what I do?

I’ve had a lifelong interest in the Old West and kind of fell into researching and writing about it through a twist of fate and my long-time interest in genealogical research. Researching my family taught me a lot of things that has helped in finding the little stories of the Old West. I’ve thought, often, about writing more fiction and would like to write a cozy mystery or ghost stories but right now the Old West is holding me in its ropes.

How does my writing process work?

I scan old newspapers until something strikes my fancy. Sometimes I happen on something while researching something else. I always make a note or a copy of anything that catches my eye. I also read a lot of journals and books about Arizona history in particular.

Once I find enough information on the current subject and the basic information is in my head I sit down with a fountain pen and spiral notebook and start writing the story. I don’t worry about the details at this point. I just keep the pen moving and get the skeleton of the story down. This is a process I use for all my writing. I belong to a writer’s group where we are given a prompt and then write a page or so just completely stream-of-consciousness. No worries about grammar or spelling or even the plot. Just get something down. That seems to be the only way I work well. I have a hard time composing on the keyboard.

Once I have a draft I start entering the article into a document on the computer and add the details from my research. Sometimes questions come up and I go back and do more research but at that point I have the article pretty well written.

I let that sit for a day or so and then go back and reread and edit.

I have a number of journals going with ideas, short stories, poetry and anything else that comes to mind. I don’t want to lose those thoughts.

The final thing I am to do is introduce you to three other writers who I admire:

I’ve only known Anna Questerly a few months but she is full of inspiration and that ever present energy. Besides being a children’s writer Anna owns a bookshop and is a wealth of information a variety of books. She is also involved in many community writing events so her blog is always fun to read. You can visit her here.

Last, but not least, is a newer acquaintance who I think will become another long-term friend, Barbara Hinske. I met Barbara about a month ago when she gave a talk at the Desert Foothills Library and liked what she had to say and was enthralled with the idea of her mystery novels. I’ve read the first one, Coming to Rosemont and look forward to her latest release. It was funny that the day I met her another friend brought in an article about Barbara’s mini-book exchange “house” in her front yard. I wish I could do that here. You can learn more about Barbara Hinske at her blog here.

My other choice is out of town and not able to do it and since my fourth choice was already tagged I’m only doing two. Not worth stressing over. Right?

Now go join the blog hop and meet some great people.

 

 

2 Comments

  1. I love your passion for history, especially the lesser known often neglected aspects of history. Keep digging! :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 335 other followers

