Home » Uncategorized » Poem A Day

Poem A Day

I do not consider myself a poet. I do, however, keep trying. I find it extra difficult when I hear that poetry doesn’t have to rhyme, or have a special meaning, or anything. I can make a story into a poem. Since, I’m not that “in to” poetry I don’t read much of it and don’t read books about it. However, I do spend time with poets who I admire and some of it has, perhaps, rubbed off.

In November I didn’t have the time to do my usual challenge at National Novel Writers Month (NaNoWriMo) so I chose to do the poem-a-day challenge through Writer’s Digest magazine on-line. Robert Brewer posts a prompt a day and then people can post their own creations. In early January the results can be sent in for a chapbook. You can see Day One at http://www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/2013-november-pad-chapbook-challenge-day-1

About a week into it I showed my poems to a trusted friend and she made some comments and suggestions. I felt good. She said they were good. She told me to cut them down and make them tighter. I tried but editing poems is even harder than writing them, for me at least.

Feeling brave I offer my first poem from the prompt: “an appearing poem.”

Appearing

Appearing just beyond

my range of sight,

among the gravestones

of long gone lives,

a ghostly shape takes form.

It weaves among the markers

I search for hint or clue,

to who they were.

I look for answers from my ancestors

who know where I came from

and who I am.

Two of my friends joined the challenge and are doing their own editing. Please go take a look at C. B. Wentworth’s blog and the first comment from Michelle Venne. I feel honored to know them both. http://cbwentworth.wordpress.com/2013/12/16/building-a-chapbook/

Okay, I know there is a way to make those links look better but I can’t figure it out.

8 Comments

  1. Windy Lynn says:

    Fantastic, Rita! Keep them coming :)

  2. Monica says:

    At least I understand your poem but as a devotee of ambic pentameter verse I have a hard time reading it as poetry but I sure identifies with words and theme

  3. Your poem is fantastic! I hope you post more of your work. :-)

    p.s. I’ll show you how to make those links look nice if you want.

  4. Cindi says:

    This is a poem and you are right on target, it expresses your thoughts and feelings and it is succinct, to the point and it comes from your heart. I am happy for you that you have taken this plunge into an area that is new to you. You’re making a commitment to work on your technique and learn what you can and most of all, you’re willing to share. Way to expand your horizons and add one more creative outlet to your cache of creativity!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

